A Disaster Preparedness Network, working since 1994

About Us

A Disaster Preparedness Network, working since 1994

Foundation for Disaster Forum (DF) is a Dhaka based National Disaster Preparedness Network of seventy humanitarian and development agencies, research institutions, government departments and independent activists who are working on various disaster and environmental issues with special focus on preparedness. Since 1994, Forum is working for ensuring the accountability of the humanitarian and development agencies and to promote the rights of all vulnerable people. Promoting alternative perspective on Disaster Mitigation against the prevalent dominant perspective is the prime objective of Disaster Forum.


Forum has an Executive Committee, which decides the plan of actions and policy. One person from the Executive committee officiates as Member Secretary of the Forum. Representative of the Executive Committee supervises the secretariat activities of the Disaster Forum. Along with a set of core staff, it carries out the movement/ program, with a pool of volunteers.

Besides, the Executive Committee, Forum has and forms issue- based Sub-Committee when situation and need demands.

Foundation for Disaster Forum is registered under RJSC No. S10770.


Initially Forum started working with twenty-five member organizations. Now it has Seventy (70) members.

Types of Membership:

  • Organization membership (NGOs, Government agencies, Donor, Research, and Educational institute)

  • Individual membership.

Executive Committee:

A fifteen member Executive Committee selected from the member organizations and individuals formulate and review the policy and activities of the Forum in consultation with the member organizations.

Member of Executive Committee:

Mr. Afsan Chowdhury – President afsan.c@gmail.com 
Ms. Hasna Hena – Vice President hhena54@gmail.com 
Mr. Gawher Nayeem Wahra – Founder Member Secretary nayeem5508@gmail.com 
Mr. Abdul Matin – Treasurer ivsban@gmail.com 
S.M. Ahsanul Islam (Suman SMA Islam)- Member smaislam@yahoo.com 
Md. Mozibur Rahman – Member mozibur@sdsbd.org 
Md. Rasel Ahmed Liton – Member sksfoundation@sks-bd.org 
Md. Habibullah Bahar – Member hb_mms@yahoo.com 
Md. Shahidul Haque –Member shahidul@sarpv.org 
Dr. Rezaul Haque – Member k_haque2@yahoo.com 
Ms. Farida Shahnaz - Member shahnaz.farida@gmail.com 
Dr. Dibalok Shingha - Member singha@dskbangladesh.org 
Mr. Khurshid Alam Phd - Member khursidcodec@gmail.com 
Dr. Selina Amin – Member Selina.Amin@plan-internatinal.org 
Ms. Sultana Afroze Member hussainzmr@gmail.com